First New Track Off Prince's Posthumous Album Released

Adjust Comment Print

A forthcoming Price EP featuring previously unreleased material from the late musician has been pulled from online music stores after a lawsuit was filed against the EP's creator by Prince's estate. Prince co-wrote and co-produced these songs with engineer Ian Boxill around 2006.

"The songs were written and recorded when Prince was an independent artist, protesting what he saw as an unjust music industry", RMA wrote in the release.

The document is believed to allege George is trying to exploit the songs for personal gain.

And if Boxill goes ahead and releases the "Deliverance" EP, the lawsuit claims he would violate an agreement that he "would not use any recordings or property in any way whatsoever".

Other songs on the album include I Am, Touch Me, Sunrise Sunset, No One Else, and I Am (extended). The disc version will be released nationwide on June 2.

St. Paul's KSTP now reports that Paisley Park and Prince's estate are joining forces on a federal lawsuit against Boxill, which claims the five unpublished recordings amount to a value of greater than $75,000.

For Boxill's part, he provided a statement in RMA's initial press release arguing he was only doing what Prince would have wanted.

Another echoed their thoughts, adding: "Bet you by golly #wow thank you #prince for your incredible new release one year after #Deliverance".

A six-track EP of Prince songs was due to be made public on Friday (21Apr17), until the singer's estate launched a legal bid to halt the release.

Boxill, who has worked with an array of artists including slain rap great Tupac Shakur, sent a reply that was sealed by the court.

Prince was 57 when he died at his Paisley Park estate in Minnesota on 21 April past year (16) from an overdose of the opioid Fentanyl. My team and I are excited for the "Deliverance" single to be available again to Prince's loyal fans.

Titled "Deliverance", the title track of the forthcoming EP is available to hear right now, in advance of the Friday release.